Bhagavadgita Pages, Chapters 1 to 18

BG01 BG02 BG03 BG04 BG05 BG06 BG07 BG08  BG09 BG10 BG11 BG12 BG13 BG14 BG15 BG16 BG17 BG18




The Big Wheel of Brahman. (under construction)
Svetasvatara Upanishad (1.4)

Svetasvatara Upanishad (1.4):  Brahman is a wheel with three tires, sixteen ends, fifty spokes, twenty counter spokes, six sets of eights, one manifold rope, three different paths and one delusion from two causes.                             

The Big Wheel of Brahman

Front tire: red:-Rajas tire; left rear tire: white:-Sattva tire; right rear tire: black:- Tamas tire.

The three tires are the Sattva, Rajas and Tamas tires. The Rajas tire determines the direction the big Brahman wheel goes: Creation, maintenance, or destruction.  

Sixteen ends of the big wheel of Brahman : Five elements (sound, touch, color, taste, smell); five sensory functions (vision, hearing, smelling, tasting, and tactile sense); five motor functions (Speech, grasp, locomotion, evacuation, and procreation); and mind. These ends are on the surface of the wheel, not shown in the diagram.

Fifty spokes: They connect the hub to the rim of the wheel. The spokes carry the forces from the hub and translate them into movement. They are five viparyayas (1-5); 28 asaktis or lack of power (6-33), aberration of nine tustis [discontentment] (34-42), aberration of eight siddhis [imperfections) (43-50)

20 Counter-spokes: five organs of perception, five organs of motor function and their corresponding entities.

Five Viparyayas (wrong notions), also called five-jointed Avidyam or ignorance are Tamas, Moha, Mahamoha, Tamasira and Andhatamsira (darkness, delusion, great delusion, pitch-darkness, and extreme darkness). 


Six sets of eights:

  1. Prakrti: Five elements, mind, intellect, ego.
  2. Dhatu: Eight ingredients or constituents of body (Semen, blood,  marrow,  fat, flesh,  bone and skin are the seven (dhAtus) in the body
  3. Aisvarya: Eight emanations or forms of the Lord
  4. Bhāva: Eight conditions.
  5. Deva: gods of eight classes
  6. Atma-guna: Eight virtues.

Visva-rupaika-pasam: rope is manifold. desire or karma

Tri-margha bedam: three different paths to liberation: dharma, adharma, and jnana (religiousness, irreligiousness, and wisdom).

Two causes of one delusion: Moha or delusion is ignorance of the self caused by good and bad actions (karma).


Svet. Upanishad 1.6 mentions that in the Wheel of Brahman which moves all things and in which all rest, the soul moves around thinking that the self and the Mover (the Lord) are different. That is Tirodhana (Veiling) , meaning that the Lord is hiding as Antaratman in the spiritual heart of man. Once he (the lesser soul) finds out that he and the mover are one and the same, ignorance lifts, and Grace comes in.